Maine Association for Infant Mental Health

MeAIMH Annual Training Conference

Thank you for your support of our 30th annual conference:

Our appreciation to Stephan A. Viehweg, ACSW, LCSW, IMH-E for his excellent and engaging presentation. The sharing of his knowledge, research and intervention approach will help participants supporting parents so parents can support their children

Also sincere thanks to our Co-sponsor:  Casa, Inc. and our exhibitors whose support made this conference possible. We hope to continue our partnership with them and add new sponsors and exhibitors for next year!

Check back in the fall of 2017 for information about our 31st annual conference planned for May 2018 at the Hilton Garden Inn, Freeport Downtown.

The first official “membership meeting” of the MeAIMH was held in November 1987, with the principal speaker being Dr. Hiram Fitzgerald, then Executive Secretary of the World Association for Infant Mental Health. Dr. Fitzgerald welcomed our arrival and subsequent admission to the international body and congratulated us on our commitment and dedication.

Annual conferences have been held by the Association in Maine every year since then, and with the exception of the first two (held in September ‘88 and April “89) have always been in May — usually on the second or third Friday of that month. The keynote speakers on these occasions are nationally or internationally-known leaders in the field — teachers, clinicians, researchers, authors, administrators, program directors.

Additional conference activities include useful varieties of workshops, panels, demonstrations, discussion groups, videotapes, displays, book sales, and raffles. Above all, they offer an opportunity for MeAIMH members to meet and share their mosts recent successes and frustrations.

The current list of past conference keynote speakers, who were sometimes paired, follows (in alphabetical order)

Dr. Carl Bell
Dr. Margaret Blaustein
Dr. Roseanne Clark
Dr. Tiffiany Field
Dr. Juergen Homan
Dr. Gregory Keck
Dr. Regina Kupecky
Dr. Robert Kinschereff
Ms. Mary Sheedy Kurcinka
Dr. Penelope Leach
Dr. Gabor Maté
Dr. Joy Osofsky
Dr. Susan Partridge
Dr. Kyle Pruett
Dr. Barbara Russek
Dr. Warren Schumacher
Mr. Charlie Slaughter, MPH, RD
Dr. Jean Thomas
Dr. Edward Z. Tronick
Mr. Michael Trout
Ms. Olga Trujillo, J. D.
Ms. Margaret Tulley
Ms. Beth Warren
Dr. Emmy Werner
Dr. G. Gordon Williamson
Dr. Patricia Van Horn
Mr. Stephan Viehweg, ACSW
Dr. Charles Zeanah

Over the next few months, please check the website for more information about the next conference.